top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Campbell

Straight outta Africa - Kunjani Wines

"Na, wie geht's?" That's the translation of Kunjani - the isiZulu word for "how are you?", and the name of this Stellenbosch winery. Combining the best of German precision, and South African passion, husband and wife combo Paul Barth & Pia Watermeyer have created this contemporary line of wines, made to be enjoyed with good food and great company.


I spotted this Kunjani 2015 Shiraz on the shelf at Edeka the other day, and even though it was a bit pricey (€15,90) , it was totes worth it. Not only did it have decent ratings on Vivino, but everyone knows "Howzit, kunjani?" is my catch-phrase - and now also my German partner's. I knew the story behind this winery long before I relocated to Germany, but it really made me quite nostalgic for "home". Plus, South Africans do a great job with Shiraz, given our hot & dry climate in the Cape Winelands, so I knew it was bound to be good.

According to Vivino, the 2018 vintage is nicer, but I really enjoyed the 2015. I'm a big fan of dry, bold reds, that are not necessarily boasting fruity notes, but are more spicy and developed. Think more along the lines of pepper, cinnamon, oak, and chocolate. Delish, right?


Drank this with a steak dinner at home, and was not disappointed. The shiraz complimented the heartiness of the meal perfectly, without being overpowering. I can just imagine how nice this wine would have been if the steak was straight off a braai (bbq), with some charcoal and smokey flavours coming through too!


Anyway, I only saw the Shiraz at Edeka, but these guys have an entire range available from their quirky Rosé called "Stolen Chicken"(must be a story behind that one!), to a Chenin Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. Definitely keen to test out more. Also, their winery is very modern South African-chic in design, I'll have to drop in on my next trip back to SA.



If you'd like to read up more on Kunjani Wines, check out their website. Gallery images courtesy of Google Images, feature photo my own.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2021 by Babelas. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram
bottom of page